About the ITN?

CampaignSupporting ProgrammesClub Level
Play+Stay ™ TENNIS10s
11-17s Tennis Programme

What is the ITN?

The International Tennis Number (ITN) is a tennis rating that represents a player’s general level of play and is recognised internationally.  In time it is hoped that every tennis player worldwide will have an ITN. The ITN is a supporting programme of the Tennis Play and Stay campaign that works at the club level for all players playing tennis competitively.

The ITN is a system where players are rated on a scale of 10 levels, from ITN 1 to ITN 10. ITN 1 represents a high level player (holding an ATP / WTA ranking or of an equivalent playing standard). ITN 10 is a player who is new to the game and beginning their competitive journey in tennis.

ITN 10.3, 10.2 and 10.1 are for starter players who are unable to play the game (serve, rally and score) with a regular Yellow ball on a full court. They are using the slower Red, Orange and Green balls on smaller courts. A description of standards has been developed to describe each of the 10 rating categories. Click here for the full ITN Description of Standards.

Types of players

Players can be divided into five types within the ITN according to their overall ability. The ITF recommends that the following terminology is used to describe the five types of players:

  • ITN 1 should be referred to as Elite / High Performance players.
  • ITN 2, 3 or 4 should be referred to as Advanced players.
  • ITN 5, 6 or 7 should be referred to as Intermediate players.
  • ITN 8, 9 and 10 should be referred to as Recreational players
  • ITN 10.3, 10.2 and 10.1 (adults and juniors) should be referred to as starter players

© International Tennis Federation        Powered by Umbraco